Early in 1955, Walter T. Morey began to discuss the formation of a new bank in Decatur, Illinois. On July 15, 1955, an application to organize a bank in Decatur was submitted to the Auditor of Public Accountants. On October 17, 1955, the permit was received for the chartering of Soy Capital Bank. Soy Capital Bank opened its doors for business at 1501 East Eldorado Street on June 9, 1956.

Soy Capital Bank became Soy Capital Bank and Trust Company, indicating the bank's ability to administer trusts, in January of 1970. In November of 1983, the Board of Directors of Soy Capital Bank and Trust approved the formation of a multi-bank holding company. The first meeting of the shareholders of SCB BANCORP, INC. was held in July of 1984.

In 1990, Soy Capital Bank acquired the former Gem City Savings and Loan and First Federal Savings and Loan. The First Federal Savings and Loan location became the Soy Capital Bank Main Street facility (455 North Main Street, Decatur). The former location of Gem City is now Soy Capital Bank's Pershing Road facility (560 East Pershing Road, Decatur).

On April 15, 1997, Soy Capital Bank and Trust Company opened the Airport Plaza facility at 4865 East US Route 36 in Decatur. October 25, 1999, We opened the South Shores facility (1685 South Franklin Street, Decatur) on October 25, 1999. In December 1999, Soy Capital Bank and Trust Company purchased the Agricultural Services Division from National City and opened Soy Capital Ag Services offices in Decatur, Bloomington, Peoria, Kankakee and Springfield, Illinois.

In April 2002, Soy Capital Bank and Trust Company purchased J.L. Hubbard Insurance and Bonds. Their new insurance office and our new bank branch opened simultaneously in January 2005 in Forsyth, Illinois.

In the summer of 2004, Soy Capital Bank and Trust Company opened its facility in Bloomington, Illinois, at 2306 East Washington Street.

In March 2006, we opened a facility in Peoria, Illinois, at 4530 North University Street.

We opened a facility in Champaign, Illinois, at 2009 Fox Drive in August 2009.

Throughout the history of Soy Capital Bank and Trust Company, we have had only six presidents:

  • Ed Curtis (1955–1958)
  • Dwight Nelson (1958–1966)
  • Edmund J. Arseneault (1966–1989)
  • Frits R. Pronk (1989–1995)
  • Robert C. Smith (1995–2016)
  • Andrew R. Cave (2017-Present)